Gallery

The Cherry on the Cake

The Cherry on the Cake

The most important ingredient we put into any relationship is not what we say or what we do, but what we are. Recently I came across a real life story that taught me a similar lesson on relationships. The impact it made on my mind encouraged me to write on this and share the story with you all.

I was at my elder cousin brother’s home. It was a get together at newlywed bhaiya’s home as the couple was leaving for New York the very next day. After the festival celebration we all cousins sat together with the newly married couple. We all took chairs and began settling in the room. It was a long time since we all met.

I asked my bhabhi what made them the happiest couple. My question diverted everybody’s mind. She ignored us and stood up and began to leave for some household work. After we all insisted she finally agreed to tell the secret. We all sat around the couple to listen the secret. I was curious to know how bhaiya proposed bhabhi. Instead bhabhi said she was the one who proposed.

She sat on the sofa and continued “My mind was not prepared for the arrange marriage as I wanted to complete my studies first. But for the sake of my parents, I agreed to meet the boy. I was in a dilemma if he will be the right one for me. At first sight my mind rejected him. I rated him ‘below average’ on looks and personality. Just then something different happened that changed my decision. Your bhaiya’s attitude changed my mind’s altitude.”

“What was the miracle bhabhi. Come on tell no, complete the story.” I insisted when she stood up again making an excuse for kitchen.

She continued “That day I concluded our discussion and stood up. The discussion ended finally after half an hour. I had completely rejected the person still sitting on the sofa for my final answer. When I was about to leave the sofa I realized that my dupatta got stuck with the curtain behind sofa. To help me, he stood up instantly and passed me a knife kept in the fruit basket on the table to cut the thread between two clothes to help me. May be he didn’t found anything else to help me out when I was struggling to get rid from that tie up. The moment he gave the knife to me made me fall in a deep thought. That moment changed my decision. In my perception the way he gave me the knife made me to think more deeply about him.”

“What was so special?” I asked curiously.

“He passed me the knife in such a way that the sharp end was in his hand and the blunt end was offered to me. That led me to a final conclusion. How he can hurt my feelings when he knows what is better for his loved one. This person who is hiding the danger side of the knife for me and facing it himself during which he himself could hurt, that person cannot be selfish. He knew how to make his life and his wife happy. He knew how to hide difficulties from his wife’s life and make her see only the positive side. How can I refuse to a person who knows what’s good and what’s bad. He will be the man who will stand beside me in any trouble. It was impossible to reject the great personality who cares about every minute thing.”

I was deeply touched by her words that I think every person should learn from the couple. A person’s personality does not build from his looks, but it is the attitude towards the life, towards his loved ones that make him on the top of every relationship. Some of the biggest challenges in relationships come from the fact that most people enter a relationship in order to get something. They’re trying to find someone who’s going to make them feel good. In reality, the only way a relationship will last is if you see your relationship as a place that you go to give, and not a place that you go to take. A relationship is like a rose. How long it lasts, no one knows. Little kindness and courtesies are so important. In relationships, the little things are the big things.

The incident truly depicts that a successful relationship starts from such minute things. Small things matters a lot in love life as these steps lead to a bigger destination. If a small task of tying shoe lace when not done properly, we cannot guarantee that one can run and complete a race easily without slipping. If a person is truly concerned about such small things in life, one can surely say that he can easily face any bigger problem and can maintain and sustain any relationship in a better way. Such minute things form an important ingredient for any relationship. To maintain any relationship such small things should be taken care of, like a cherry cannot be forgotten to make a cake look perfect. Never miss the cherry of small things that make you happy, on the cake of your life.

       

